Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
The A-10 is the plane that makes a flying field go quiet and then loud: straight wing, twin engines perched on the tail, a gun barrel poking out of the nose. It is also a plane with a confusing catalogue. There are micro jets and 1.7 m foam giants, 4S and dual-6S power, kits that are not even EDF, and a lot of models that have quietly gone out of production. The real question is which version suits your skill level, your field and your radio, and which you can actually buy this month. If you are brand new to RC, the FAQ at the bottom comes first: the A-10 is not where most people should start.
This guide is based on manufacturer specs, retailer product pages and documentation, all read on 8 October 2026. It is not based on our own flying, and nobody here has flown these planes. Performance numbers are labelled as manufacturer claims, and availability is a dated snapshot of what the maker or main retailer showed that day. Stock changes weekly, so treat the "in stock" column as a starting point, not a promise.
"Per the product page" means the maker's own page, not the instruction manual, which was not read. Read the manual before the first power-up.
Every model at a glance
Skill levels below are the maker's or retailer's own labels where one exists. "Out of stock" means the retailer showed no stock and gave no return date.
| Model | Type and span | Maker skill label | Status, 8 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| E-flite UMX A-10 30mm (EFLU6550) | Twin 30mm EDF, 562 mm, BNF Basic | Horizon Skill Level 3 | In stock |
| XFly A-10 Twin 50mm | Twin 50mm EDF, 1000 mm, PNP | None found | Available (maker store and a US hobby retailer); limited stock at one Dutch retailer |
| Dynam A-10 V2 Twin 64mm 4S | Twin 64mm EDF, 1080 mm, PNP / BNF / ready-to-fly kits | Intermediate | Grey and Desert sold out; Green shown in stock on dynamrc.com |
| E-flite A-10 64mm Smart (EFL011500) | Twin 64mm EDF, 1149 mm, BNF Basic | Horizon Skill Level 3 | In stock at Horizon US |
| Freewing A-10 V3 Twin 64mm (FJ11711P) | Twin 64mm EDF, 1270 mm, PNP | Intermediate | Out of stock at Motion RC |
| Freewing A-10 V2 Twin 64mm (FJ10621P) | Twin 64mm EDF, 1100 mm, PNP | Intermediate | Discontinued |
| FMS A-10 V2 Twin 70mm | Twin 70mm EDF, 1500 mm, PNP | Intermediate (per FMS) | Purchasable at FMS directly |
| Freewing A-10 Super Scale Twin 80mm V2 | Twin 80mm EDF, 1700 mm, PNP / PNP with gyro / ARF Plus | Advanced | Out of stock, all three formats |
| LanXiang / Sky Flight Hobby A-10 2x70mm | Twin 70mm EDF kit, 1534 mm | "Intermediate, Advanced, Expert" | Listed as in stock (single vendor) |
| Flite Test FT A-10 Warthog MKR2 | Foam-board kit, twin propellers, 1537 mm | Medium | Add to cart shown |
| T-One Models 1/7 scale A-10 | Turbine or EDF ARF, 2500 mm | Advanced | Listed at a US dealer, stock not stated |
Formats, radios and the 250 g line
Four labels cover almost every A-10 here. BNF has the receiver installed and needs a compatible transmitter. PNP has no radio gear and no battery. ARF Plus means the airframe arrives with servos and retracts fitted and you supply motors, fans and speed controllers. A kit is an airframe and nothing else. The ARF vs RTF vs PNP guide unpicks these in more detail, and the transmitter and receiver guide helps if you are shopping for a radio at the same time.
In short: the UMX needs a Spektrum DSMX/DSM2 radio with five or more channels. The E-flite 64mm needs six channels as a minimum, seven for SAFE Select, and eight or more for SAFE Select plus thrust reversing. The Freewing and FMS PNPs need six or more, the Freewing 80mm up to nine depending on format, the XFly four, and the LanXiang kit seven or more plus your own motors, ESCs and servos. Dynam's BNF needs only a transmitter and its ready-to-fly kits include one. Only the UMX and the E-flite 64mm come with AS3X stabilization; the Dynam has a simple gyro; the rest are unstabilized.
The FAA note. Only the UMX A-10 comes in under 250 g: E-flite quotes 192 g with an 850 mAh 3S pack. Every other model here is far heavier, from roughly 1 kg for the Dynam up to about 4.7 kg for the Freewing 80mm without batteries. In the US, registration applies at 250 g (0.55 lb) and above, and every recreational flyer needs to pass the TRUST safety test regardless of weight. Registered aircraft also have Remote ID obligations. This is a summary, not legal advice, and the details change, so read the FAA license and registration guide before your first flight.
Starting small: the E-flite UMX A-10
E-flite UMX A-10 Thunderbolt II 30mm EDF BNF Basic (EFLU6550). Status on 8 October 2026: in stock at Horizon US.
This is the lowest-stakes way into the airframe. Per the product page it has a 562 mm span, twin 30mm fans, and a Spektrum receiver with AS3X stabilization and optional SAFE Select already installed. Weight is 120 g without a battery and 192 g with an 850 mAh 3S pack (manufacturer figures). It runs on 2S or 3S packs from 450 to 850 mAh, and four-channel control is standard.
The gear is fixed with a steerable nose wheel, and E-flite's page says it is for paved surfaces, packed dirt or grass at large parks and fields, or you can leave the gear off for hand launches and landings on grass. There are no flaps and no retracts. Horizon labels it Skill Level 3, and no assembly is required. The page does not state a flight time, so do not budget on a number you read in a forum.
The catch is the radio. It needs a full-range Spektrum DSMX/DSM2 transmitter with five or more channels. If you fly another brand, the radio is part of your A-10 budget. Packs use an IC2 connector, so check your charger leads too.
Check the E-flite UMX A-10 on Amazon
Intermediate: 64mm to 70mm jets
Most of the catalogue lives here. These are all heavy by micro standards, all need a proper field, and none is a "my second plane" purchase. If you have not flown a fast low-wing model yet, the best RC jets guide and the EDF jet guide cover the class before you commit.
E-flite A-10 Thunderbolt II Twin 64mm Smart (EFL011500)
Status on 8 October 2026: in stock at Horizon US. On Amazon, the listing showed "currently unavailable" that day, so Horizon was the live route.
This is the most stabilized of the large A-10s on paper. Per the product page: 1149 mm span, 1061 mm length, twin 11-blade 64mm fans, 2840-2200Kv outrunners, a Spektrum Avian Dual 40A Smart ESC, nine installed digital servos, electric retracts with shock-absorbing struts, working flaps and twin rudders. Weight is 1732 g without a battery and 2324 g with a 6S 4000 mAh pack. E-flite claims top speeds of 110+ mph and a flight time of 3.5 to 4 minutes (both manufacturer claims). It carries AS3X and optional SAFE Select via an installed AR637TA receiver, plus Smart telemetry, and Horizon labels it Skill Level 3.
Thrust reversing needs a radio with eight or more channels plus a separate Smart ESC programming update box. E-flite says the metal-geared nose servo makes the plane more practical from manicured grass and other rough surfaces, which is a more modest claim than "grass plane", so read it that way. The plane is BNF Basic only. The older EFL01150 (AR636 receiver) and the PNP version EFL01175 are both marked discontinued at Horizon, so check the part number if you find one used or on a shelf.
Search Amazon for the E-flite A-10 64mm Smart
FMS A-10 Thunderbolt II V2 Twin 70mm
Status on 8 October 2026: purchasable at FMS directly; Horizon's US listing no longer showed it for sale.
FMS rates this one Intermediate on its own page, which is lower than you might assume from a 1500 mm span and a flying weight of around 4100 g. Per the product page: twin 70mm 12-blade fans, two 2860 KV1850 inrunners, two 80A ESCs with an 8A BEC, ailerons, elevator, rudder, flaps and electronic retracts, on a 6S 5000 mAh pack. Claimed flight time is 4 minutes on a single pack, and Horizon's listing adds 6 minutes with dual batteries. The battery bay fits two 6S 3300 mAh packs, which is the maker's statement and nothing more.
Against a used V1, the V2 adds bigger ESCs, 23g metal elevator and rudder servos, a redesigned nose gear with less play, softer wing connectors, more elevator travel and tougher tires, per Horizon's page. There is no stabilization in the PNP; FMS sells a Reflex flight controller as an add-on.
Search Amazon for the FMS A-10 70mm V2
The FMS brand guide covers the wider lineup.
XFly A-10 Thunderbolt II Twin 50mm
Status on 8 October 2026: available at the maker's store and a US hobby retailer (which titles it "V2"), limited stock at a Dutch retailer. The Amazon listing showed it could not ship to the location it was checked from, so confirm yours before planning around it.
The XFly is the middle child: 1000 mm span, 920 mm length, twin 12-blade 50mm fans, two 40A ESCs, four 9g servos and a 4S 2200-2600 mAh pack, as a PNP needing a four-channel radio. Gear is removable fixed main gear with a steerable nose wheel, for paved runway, packed dirt or grass, or a hand launch with the gear off per the maker.
Gaps to know about: no maker skill rating, no flight time claim, and no first-party weight on the pages read (third-party listings put it around 1,190 g, unconfirmed). Whether that retailer's "V2" differs from earlier XFly models is also unclear. Do extra homework before buying.
Search Amazon for the XFly A-10 Twin 50mm
Dynam A-10 Thunderbolt II V2 Twin 64mm 4S
Status on 8 October 2026: Grey and Desert sold out. The Green page on dynamrc.com showed "in stock" for the pre-selected version, though stock for each format is not confirmed. The Amazon listing showed "currently unavailable".
The Dynam is the odd one out on several counts. It runs on 4S (a 14.8V 2200 mAh pack), has 6-blade 64mm fans (the Freewing and E-flite 64mm models are 11 or 12 blade), and has ailerons and elevator only: no rudder, no flaps. Per the product page: 1080 mm span, 995 mm length, 1000 g flying weight, servoless electronic retracts, an iStone 6-axis gyro in the receiver, and about 5 minutes of flight time (manufacturer claim). It is about 90% pre-assembled, with roughly an hour of work left. Dynam's labels are Intermediate, and "intermediate to experienced" on the Green page.
Formats are the interesting part: PNP, BNF with the gyro receiver, a ready-to-fly kit with an 8-channel transmitter, battery and charger, and a GPS-equipped kit version. As far as we could find, it is the only A-10 here offering a radio-included package. The iStone gyro stabilizes, but it is not the same system as AS3X with SAFE Select, so do not treat the two as interchangeable.
Search Amazon for the Dynam A-10 V2 64mm
Freewing A-10 Thunderbolt II V3 Twin 64mm
Status on 8 October 2026: out of stock at Motion RC, no return date. Freewing put it on sale around October 2025, so it is not a forgotten model, just a sold-out one.
Per the product page it is an all-new mold: 1/14 scale, 1270 mm span, 1143 mm length, and a flying weight of 2212 g without battery and armament. Power is two 2840-2200Kv outrunners with 12-blade 64mm fans and two 50A ESCs with thrust reversing, on a 6S 4000-5000 mAh pack. There are nine servos, flaps, CNC aluminium shock-absorbing retracts with gear doors, an LED package, sliding-rail armament, and screwless quick-release wings that connect their electronics automatically. Freewing lists it as Intermediate, 14+, about an hour of assembly. It is PNP only with no stabilization, and it needs a six or seven-channel radio (seven for thrust reversing).
The recommended surface is "well manicured, short grass and hard surfaces" per Freewing. The older V2 (FJ10621P, 1100 mm span, 1390 g, 4S) is discontinued, and the V1 page no longer loads, so skip any listing that does not say V3 if you want the current mold.
Search Amazon for the Freewing A-10 V3 64mm
Amazon searches for Freewing A-10s showed no A-10 listings on 8 October, so the Freewing dealer Motion RC is the usual route.
Advanced: the big foam jets
LanXiang / Sky Flight Hobby A-10 2x70mm Jet Kit
Status on 8 October 2026: listed as "available in stock" by the maker's distributor shop (shipped from China). This is a single-vendor source, so quality, support and US availability are unconfirmed.
It is a kit, not a PNP. The vendor lists a foam airframe and English manual, with a 1534 mm span, 1400 mm length and 2480 g flying weight. The recommended build is twin 70mm metal EDFs, two 2700kV outrunners, two 80A Hobbywing ESCs, 17g metal digital servos, a 7+ channel radio and a 6S 4000 mAh pack, none of which are included. Features are threaded-shaft metal retracts and airbrake flaps. The vendor's skill label is "Intermediate, Advanced, Expert", which is a polite way of saying "bring your own judgment". We found no Amazon listing for it.
Freewing A-10 Thunderbolt II Super Scale Twin 80mm EDF Jet V2
Status on 8 October 2026: out of stock at Motion RC in all three formats, and also out of stock at Freewing's own store with a pre-order note.
This is the biggest foam A-10 in the list and the only ready-built one the maker labels "Advanced". Per the product pages: 1/10 scale, 1700 mm span (66.9 in), 1551 mm length, and a flying weight of 4.74 kg (10.45 lb) without batteries. It uses two 100A ESCs with thrust reversing, two 6S 5000-6000 mAh packs, and has ailerons, elevator, rudder, flaps, a full light set, and CNC aluminium shock-absorbing retracts. Freewing's recommended surface is hard and soft surfaces including maintained grass runways, and it calls the retracts "grass-ready".
Three formats exist. The PNP (FJ31114P) has 3530-1900Kv outrunners and 9-blade fans, and wants a 6-8 channel radio. The PNP with gyro (FJ31113PG) has 3658-2150Kv inrunners, 12-blade fans and a Freewing EG01 6-axis gyro installed, and wants 6-9 channels. The ARF Plus (FJ31113AP) comes with servos and gear installed, and you supply the fans, motors and ESCs. When stock returns, pick the format by how much of the power system you want to choose yourself.
Search Amazon for the Freewing A-10 80mm V2
Builders and giant scale
Flite Test FT A-10 Warthog MKR2
Status on 8 October 2026: add to cart shown on the Flite Test store, with no sold-out text.
This is the one that is not an EDF jet. Flite Test's own launch article explains it chose propeller drive over EDF as a compromise, and the store's optional Power Pack C is two Radial 2218/1180Kv motors, two 40A ESCs, four 9g servos and four HQ 10x4.5 props. The kit itself is a laser-cut foam-board airframe (eleven sheets, plus firewalls, hardware, pushrods, duct formers, landing gear and wheels) and no electronics. Span is 1537 mm (60.5 in), CG sits 2.5 in (64 mm) back from the leading edge, and the maker's build estimate is seven hours. The spec table says Build Level Medium while the text calls it an advanced build, and flying level is Medium for a large field. Flite Test says three-cell power is docile and four-cell is fully aerobatic, and it claims trainer-like tendencies once it is built. No weight is published.
You get a repairable foam-board A-10; you give up the molded-EPO look and the jet whine. The guide to Flite Test planes covers the brand more broadly, and the foam-board roundup helps if this is your first kit.
Search Amazon for the Flite Test A-10 Warthog kit
T-One Models 1/7 scale A-10
Listed at a US dealer, stock not stated. It is a turbine or EDF-ducting ARF with a 2.5 m (98.4 in) span, 2.3 m length and 42 lb dry weight with two K-85 turbines, electric gear and brakes, and an operational canopy. Turbine models in the US generally need an AMA waiver, with a minimum of 50 flights on a high-performance model, but that applies to the turbine version rather than the EDF ARF; check current AMA documents. It is here so you know where the ceiling is. The turbine engine guide and the tug and ground handling guide are the next stops.
Runways: what the makers say
Surface advice is where marketing and reality part ways, and all of it above comes from product pages, not manuals. Only Freewing's 80mm V2 is pitched for maintained grass runways; the V3 and Flite Test models say short, manicured grass; the E-flite 64mm is "more practical" from grass, which is a modest claim. Dynam, FMS, LanXiang and T-One gave no recommendation. "Manicured" means mown and flat, not a hayfield, and the landing gear guide helps you judge what your field will do to a nose wheel.
Flight times and twin-fan habits
Maker claims are short: about 3.5 to 4 minutes for the E-flite 64mm, about 4 minutes for the FMS (6 on dual packs per Horizon), and about 5 minutes for the Dynam. The UMX, XFly, Freewing and LanXiang pages gave no figure. Twin ducted fans burn through packs, so plan on several. The LiPo battery guide covers 6S pack selection, storage and C-ratings.
A few general habits apply to any twin-EDF jet, none of them specific to one A-10:
- Check both fans before every takeoff. One fan spooling and the other not will yank the plane sideways on the roll.
- Plan the approach early. EDFs answer the throttle with a delay, so chopping to idle on short final leaves a heavy glider.
- Use flaps where fitted. The E-flite 64mm, Freewing V3, Freewing 80mm and FMS 70mm have them. The Dynam and the UMX do not, so they land hotter.
The takeoff and landing guide goes deeper on approach technique.
Which A-10 should you buy?
Never flown RC: not yet. Start with a trainer and a simulator.
Spektrum radio, small field, stabilization wanted: the UMX.
Spektrum radio and a proper field: the E-flite 64mm Smart, which is the one stabilized, flap-equipped model actually on sale.
No radio: the Dynam ready-to-fly kit, after you verify stock, since Grey and Desert were sold out.
Jet experience and a bigger airframe: the FMS 70mm V2 today, or the Freewing V3 if you can wait for stock.
The largest foam A-10: the Freewing 80mm V2, once it returns. Watch Motion RC and Freewing's store.
Builder: the Flite Test kit (remember: twin props), or the LanXiang kit if you already know how to match twin-EDF power systems.
For other military subjects, see the warbird guide, the best RC warbirds and the F-22 Raptor models guide.
Questions buyers actually ask
Q: Is an RC A-10 a good first jet?
Probably not. The makers label the models Intermediate or Advanced, Horizon marks the two E-flite versions Skill Level 3, and every plane here assumes you can already fly and land a fast model. The UMX is the gentlest way into the airframe, not the gentlest jet.
Q: Why are the flight times so short?
Twin ducted fans pull a lot of current, and a pack that fits in a foam fuselage is limited in capacity. Maker claims run from about 3.5 to 6 minutes depending on model and battery setup, so bring several charged packs.
Q: Is a discontinued A-10 a safe buy used?
It can be, but check exactly which version you are getting. The E-flite EFL01150 and EFL01175 are the older generation, not the current Smart model, and the Freewing 64mm V2 is a 4S, 1100 mm design, not the 1270 mm V3. Part support for discontinued models is unknown, so ask the seller about spare gear and servos. The guide to buying second-hand planes covers what to inspect.



